Lodge Secretary is free, runs on your own computer and keeps your lodge records with you. Here is how it compares with three other services Lodge Secretaries often use.
| Lodge Secretary | The Working Tools theworkingtools.co.uk | The Festive Board thefestiveboard.co.uk | Festive Board festiveboard.org | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| What it is | Complete lodge administration desktop app | Complete lodge administration website | Masonic event & dining booking website | Festive board attendance & meal-choice website |
| Cost | Free (optional £10/year donation to our charity chest) | £5.00 per month; +£3.00 per extra lodge per month; 30-day free trial | Free to use; “handling fees may apply on checkout” | Free; lodges and guests are never charged |
| Where your lodge data is kept | On your own computer; optional encrypted backup to your lodge’s Google Drive or OneDrive | Online (cloud) | Online | Online |
| Works without the internet | ✔ Yes | No (online service) | No (online service) | No (online service) |
| Runs on | Mac and Windows | Web browser; mobile friendly | Web browser | Web browser |
| Membership records | ✔ Yes | ✔ Yes | Guest management | Permanent diners list |
| Summons and minutes | ✔ Yes (Summons Creator, booklet & Word) | ✔ Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
| Dining bookings & menu choices | ✔ Yes (Google Forms or Cognito) | ✔ Yes (events & table plans) | ✔ Yes | ✔ Yes |
| Online payment for dining | ✔ Yes (your lodge’s own PayPal link) | Not stated | ✔ Yes (handling fees may apply) | Not stated |
| Seating plan | ✔ Yes | ✔ Yes | ✔ Yes | Not stated |
| Automatic reminder e-mails | ✔ Yes | ✔ Yes (reminders) | ✔ Yes | ✔ Yes |
| Treasurer — invoices & cash book | ✔ Yes | ✔ Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
| Candidates / enquiries | ✔ Yes | ✔ Yes (candidate tracker) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Import members from the UGLE Portal | ✔ Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Grand Lodge Certificate applications | ✔ Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Lodge Passport link for Brethren | ✔ Yes | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Almoner / welfare records | Deliberately not held — welfare data stays with the Almoner | ✔ Yes (Almoner’s list) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Provincial / multi-lodge overview | Several lodges in one copy, with shared member records; no combined Provincial view | ✔ Yes (The Overseer) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Several lodges & orders | Included free (25+ Masonic orders) | £3.00 per extra lodge per month | Not stated | Not stated |
Information about other products is taken from their own websites, checked on 27 October 2026, and may since have changed. “Not stated” means we could not find it on that website — not that the product lacks it. The Festive Board websites concentrate on dining and events, so many lodges use them alongside a full administration tool. All names belong to their respective owners.
